h1

Identifying a difficulty and suggesting its solutions

March 2, 2010

      Every area of my studies has some difficulties. These difficulties graduate from the easiest problems which I can solve them easily and in short time to the most complicated things which I need a lot of efforts and time to pass them successfully. One of the most difficult sub- skills that I have focused on over the few weeks ago is note-taking skill, especially from listening. For example, how can I get or catch main ideas, understand, organise and use them effectively? also, how can I distinguish between the main ideas and additional information?

        There are many reasons for happening or finding this issue. Firstly, I think ignoring the contents of a lecture or what the lecture including. In addition, the ignorance of new words and some words’ pronounciation. Secondly, I think that this problem is happening because I sometimes try to write every word the lecturers said; therefore, I wary to write some words down that are not important rather than significant ideas and general coprehension. Finally, the speed of the lecturers affect on note-taking.

         Actually I usually identify and focus on my weaknesses and difficulties and then I suggest some methodes that might help me. In this situation, I have found chances to attend real lectures for two weeks ago, these help me much to evaluate my notes comparing with the right steps that I recieved at the beginning of the PEP. Also, after these lectures I could discuss my notes with the classmates, understanding and then I can judge on myself regularly. In fact, I have benifited from Muthana’s youtube much and I remember when I considered all advice in youtube and the next day  I tried to apply it especially ”  general coprehension” and then write down what I understand, not just what I am hearing and then putting them on the papers without pass or go inside mind. Morover, I am still listening the news in the morning and some movies in the evening. 

          Finally, I hope my classmates help me by their advice and methods.

6 comments

  1. I got a little skill from my friends for note taking. When we listen to some lectures and do some note taking, we may pay attention to some tone variation. That may be key points or main ideas what the speeker want to tell us. I think this little skill may benifit for you. Good luck!


    • thanks alot Nick for your good advice
      I will consider it


  2. Hi Hadil
    I advice you to focus on lecture when you have to take notes and forget everything. your brain has to be connected with lecture and lecturer. Do not write everything or full sentence, but you should understand what the lecturer says and write key words.
    The most important thing is: you should know what is the lecture about.

    Thanks
    Good luck

    Abdulmutalib ZARDAWY


    • Thank you very much Abdul for two important advice,
      I will try to do what you avised me about.


  3. Hi,hadil
    At the end of the third paragraph, you said you listen news in the morning. I think it’s a good idea to train the skill of taking-note. Though I have no advice to help you, thanks for your idea. I wish that your skill of taking-note will improve through other’s advice.

    Best wishes.


  4. thank you zddhugh



Leave a Reply

